Sometimes I Get Hungry #08

Macro Records Blog - SIGH2

 

11-13-2013

If you’re reading this, I’m in jail…

Don’t worry, I didn’t do anything horrible… Well… it depends on what you’d define as “horrible”. Is it a bad thing, that I refuse to be strong-armed out of money for some bullshit reason? Would you call me a miscreant because I’m willing to tell any man, group, or entity, “If you want my money, you can come try to take it from me.”? I heard Chief Wiggum, yes the one from the Simpsons, say, “ The law is powerless to help you, not punish you.” (In case you’re wondering, yes. I just dropped knowledge that a fictional cartoon character taught me). In the end, it doesn’t really matter, because I’m willing to pay with my time. I’d rather spend nine to fifteen days in jail, eating up their food and sleeping all day, instead of going to work for two or three months so I can pay them off. Sounds like a vacation to me, only without interwebs. So, it’s kinda like when you visit relatives out in the country; I’m pretty sure I’ll run into a cousin or three in here. That being said, I’m only doing this for my father and my girlfriend, who need me to be on the up and up when it comes to paperwork. Also, I might get a crazy new job soon, and I can’t have some useless tickets biting me in the ass in the middle of a school semester. My only real regret is that I might miss Macro Records inaugural label night.

Until now, I haven’t really spoken of Macro Records, besides in person when someone might ask about it explicitly. When I was brought on the team for the blog, I wasn’t told to be part of the hype machine and represent the label, full voice. I’ve been allowed to be as wildly normal as I always am, give or take a few edits for continuity. Authenticity has always been the goal. Now, that we can talk candidly- and I know you wouldn’t have it any other way- I’ll tell you what I really think about the people involved with Macro Records.

I met Trent (aka Downlow’d), one of the label heads, a long time ago, when I worked at an unspecifiable bar in El Paso’s Union District. Well… I could talk about them, but why ramble on about nonsense, self-reinforcing negative stereotypes. Anyway, of all the people that went into that place to play music, and I’m talking everybody from “D.J. Arm Tattoos Of Artist Motifs for a Single Mention On a Twitter Post” to “D.J. Let’s Play House of Pain’s Jump Around Four Times In One Night”, Trent was the only person who was listening to some of the same tracks I was listening to, and those times, German Electro/ Funk Garage was unheard of in these parts. It was that touch of anarchy, in a painfully average and boring place, that lead us to this fancy bit of wordsmithing, years later. Even if our antennas were tuned into different sonic frequencies, it was evident that there was passion behind his playing, and I could respect that. I’ve since caught Downlow’d opening for various big name artists, who I don’t need to mention either, and it was good… I never say that about anybody. Working with somebody who I can have a relatable conversion about music with is kind of a must. When we started talking about this project, my interest was called to attention when I realized that this was about more than just “fucking bitches” and “making money”. Label members were constantly working on new projects, mashing sounds and genres that weren’t their natural predicate. These guys weren’t embracing ratchet-ass principles just to make some momentum; but honestly trying to conjunctively anchor a foundation so others can showcase their talents, and bring these artists to light so as to garner some real attention for this city. Macro Night isn’t just a typical event… It’s not a rave. It’s something that El Paso, Texas has needed for a very, very long time. It’s a movement.  Getting to know everybody involved, even in small installments, by the progression of their music and skills has been a nourishing experience. It wasn’t another gathering of people with big dreams and no body of work to show for it. There’s a quiet movement, a growing energy, surrounding everybody. More like an aura summoning people to create, to forge, to establish.

It is with deep regret that I can’t be there on the founding night. Don’t send me commissary or come visit me. Instead, I want you to go to Macro Night on my part. Represent my contribution to the inauguration. I want you to be a part of it too. We all do.

This Week In Music:
Tracks from Macro artists playing the aforementioned label night, + More!

Downlow’d

551512_10200322173532342590367_1185022303_n

This reimagining of Juicy J and The Weeknd holds subtle hints of what I remember Downlow’d devolving in. Bass rattling in a sexy way, timbered tonal vocals, and second stealing snares. This isn’t an accurate representation of his entire style (the dude makes several genres), but it’s the most recent and in my opinion, most illustrious of his recent production journeys.

 

^^ Juicy J & The Weeknd – One of Those Nights (Downlow’d Remix) ^^

BassPilot

avatars-000027949602-ftux4n-crop

You can call it a banger if you really wanna be like that. Unfortunately, that term has taken a pretty nasty hit after a certain someone’s recent tongue-wagging events, but this track shows the progressive nature of Basspilot’s sensiblites, neither going too heavy or too hard. It flirts with that borderline that I love so much. The tune is most definitely remix worthy, and I really hate saying that, but I might have to make it a weekly thing since people keep asking. I personally feel that it’s a bit on the trancey side, but it’s that unpredictable margin that leaves me wanting more.


^^ Basspilot – Koosh (Original Mix) ^^

The Robert Bailon

avatars-000014638392-imjm04-crop

He’s one of the Macro Night resident DJs, and Assistant Label Managers. With track after track on his profile, I had a really difficult time picking just one from dozens. So far, there are no original productions or remixes, but this guy is a mashup monster (don’t be so quick to judge, we’ve seen many of these guys make huge waves in the recent past… 3Lau or Wick-It, anyone?). I didn’t pick it because it represented TRB as a whole, but because I fucking love “Hollaback Girl”, and it’s so difficult to find good reworks of these crossover anthems. The mashup transitions from Moomba to Heavy Electro then back into Chillout. The level of variation within this tune peaked my interest, and is a representation of Bailon’s versatility. I don’t know what time, but he’s opening. Be there early enough for that.


^^ Gwen Stefani – Hollaback Girl (The Robert Bailon Remash) ^^

Simon Baker

51Qk-KejSeL._SL500_AA280_

Just saw Simon Baker the week before I went in and this was the track that popped up into my feed right before I sent this letter off and turned myself in. It’s a fabulous Techno song with that glamorous touch of Disco-House that I know you’ll love. It’s energetic and uplifting with ingrained direction on what Simon wants you to do. Get to it.


^^ Debukas – Shake (Simon Baker Remix) ^^

Mitch De Klein

artworks-000062654084-ir9b9n-original

What do I need to say about Breach’s “Jack”? I’m sure you’ve heard it before, and I’m not going to tell you what I really think until the Year End review, because… you know, I have to discuss these things. Mitch De Klein just keeps releasing entrancing track after track. It’s simple and to the point, trimming some of the fat in the repetitive parts, and cutting some of the horns for the Dance House mediums. Grab it and don’t look back… ever.

^^ Breach – Jack (Mitch De Klein Bootleg Remix) ^^

That’s it for this week. Hopefully, I’m out in time. I’d love to meet everybody who reads my column and hear what your really think about it- you know, face-to-face. But that, of course, is only if I don’t get into a fistfight, like I always do when I’m locked up. I guess only time will tell.

Article By
Raul Chacon

 Please direct any questions or inquiries to
VashChacon@yahoo.com
with “Sometimes I Get Hungry” in the subject heading.

Raul Chacon is a self aware douchebag, who only listens to artists you’ve probably never heard of. His years of writing for literary reviews and magazines, lead him to a couple of scholarships for his work, which he quickly squandered by moving to Austin and going to shows six days a week, instead of class. Eventually, he became as a touring security and witnessed hundreds of shows and dozens of festivals firsthand. He would tell you how many shows he’s been too; but there’s too many holes in his brain at this point.

 

One thought on “Sometimes I Get Hungry #08

Leave a Reply

