The Elder Scrolls Online – Early Access is upon us!

The Elder Scrolls… A timeless video game series that has touched my own heart among countless others. As much as I would like to consider myself an “Elder Scrolls Purist”, I hopped on the bandwagon relatively late in the game. As much as I would like to say that I was around during “Arena” and “Daggerfall”… I wasn’t. Even around the time “Morrowind” first came out I was more concerned with playing the first “Halo” on my original XBOX or mindless Sim games for PC. It wasn’t until around 2008 that I discovered Oblivion. Which at that point, was already two years old. I don’t think that bothered me one bit though. All the DLC’s that came after Oblivion had already been released, offering me the entire world, Bethesda’s complete thought, on a silver platter for me to devour all at once. That’s exactly what I did too. I remember the first time I saw the opening credits for Oblivion. I was awestruck, the world looked amazing, and to top it off, I had the legendary Patrick Stewart narrating the entire opening sequence. I could go on and on about his skill as a regular actor as well as a voice actor. We have also been playing “Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2” on PS3 which also features a VO from Patrick Stewart. I think my complete review of that game might be for another time though.

 White_gold_tower

Now, here is where I definitely begin to break away from the “Elder Scrolls Purist” label. I don’t think I ever realized how much I truly loved The Elder Scrolls until I played Skyrim. Even now, almost three years later I find myself still going back to the game, working on one of my multiple alts. I’ve spent hundreds of hours in a world created solely for our enjoyment. I still think I can come back to Skyrim in 10 years, start a new character, and play the game all over again. Who knows, I could probably find myself logging the same amount of hours into the game again.

skyrim

A couple days ago whoever, I forced myself to not play the game, even though I had the urge. “Why?” Why would I force myself not to play a game that I really love? The answer for me is simple, “Elder Scrolls Online”.

elder-scrolls-online

It’s no secret to those that know me, that I’m a pretty big MMO player. I can’t even give up my current MMO (“Star Wars: The Old Republic”) for another MMO. I couldn’t possibly imagine abandoning the 7 other loyal people that I raid beside twice a week. However, my love for The Elder Scrolls has swayed me to purchase my “Imperial Edition” copy of the game. I went digital. The extra puffery in the box version didn’t really excite me. I guess since all the NDAs have dropped I can talk about my past Beta experiences. I played in 5 beta events prior to now. Despite some major bugs, my experience for the most part, was a positive one. I remember in the first Beta event I was in, some of the NPCs didn’t even have Voice Over. It didn’t really bother me, it was just funny to hear the generic computer generated voices they inserted as placeholders. 😀   In the end, I was very happy with all the Voice Acting I heard. The stars they got to fill those awful computer generated voices is pretty amazing. Kate Beckinsale & Bill Nighy (Underworld callback), Michael Gambon, John Cleese, and Alfred Molina. Just to name a few. The best aspect of the game that I saw during beta, would definitely be the overall art style. Everything looked like it should in an Elder Scrolls environment. Yet somehow, everything felt more refined. I enjoyed combat for the most part. The ability to highly customize your abilities no matter your class or race, can make theory crafting your build and testing it out very satisfying. Early Access begins in 2 days, probably less as you are reading this article. I can’t wait to get into Tamriel and start the epic adventure.

Article by: Alexander Madsen

Send all questions, comments, and concerns to: alex.macrorecords@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

