Last To The Party #03

kygo live

04/24/2014

Do you remember the first time you fell in love with a song? Do you remember how old you were? What song it was? The lengths you would go to, all just to listen to it over and over? For me, it’s not really the songs that I can recall, or the places I was when I heard them. I think these are all minor logistical details that get lost along the way. For me, it’s the feelings these songs inspired that I distinctly remember.

When I was a young girl, I use to stay up late, hidden deep beneath a cleverly constructed layer of blankets. It was just me, the radio and a blank cassette. I would slide the dial through a range of connections: across the AM’s and through the FM’s, waitin for any sound or melody that caught my attention. When one did, I would press record, sure to save it for a later date.

I would find songs that even at a young age, would make me wonder what it was like to fall in love. I would hear melodies that would take me to a different world. I would close my eyes, daydream and enjoy. Slowly soaking up anything that sounded perfect in my tiny, yet receptive ears.

I remember feeling excitement, a yearning for adventure and even anticipation of what the future would hold. There were times I felt sadness. I couldn’t explain the way I felt, but some songs-some songs just sounded so beautiful. I couldn’t help but feel the way I did.

As I got older, music never lost its grasp on my senses. I was always craving new sounds, always searching for new music to titillate my heart.  Even into adulthood, I’m still trying to satisfy my ferocious appetite for new music. But it’s not often that I find a song that gives me the same feelings I had underneath those blankets, so many years ago.

With the loss of your youth comes the gaining of experience. I used to hear love songs and envision what it must be like to feel something so strong for another. I would sit in bed, too young to really understand but old enough to hear those melodies and imagine. Now I know what it’s like to fall in love. So when I’m blessed enough to stumble across a sound that illuminates my heart in the same way, I enjoy it even more. The curiosity of my youth has been replaced with a peaceful understanding.

It’s been a long time since I’ve found an artist that gives me those old familiar shivers of excitement, back when it was just me and that blank cassette.

Until I discovered Kygo.

When I first got a taste, it was thanks to his mix on April’s episode of ‘Diplo and Friends.’  Since then, I’ve slowly made my way through everything I can find that Kygo’s created and I’m left with this overwhelming sense of satisfaction. His remix of Matt Corby’s ‘Brother’ took my breath away. It was slow, steady and enticing. It gave me pause at first but shortly thereafter I was forced to play it again and again.

I fell even more in love with Kygo when I heard his version of Ed Sheeran’s ‘I See Fire.’ I was driving home from work and it was the perfect storm of elements. The sun was setting, Sheeran’s voice was cascading through my car and I remember thinking ‘this is what love must sound like.’

I love his steady, rhythmic hooks. I’ve fallen in love with his style, and the way he catches you with every intro. I have found an artist that makes me want to crawl up underneath my blankets, grab my radio, and press record.

I don’t remember the first time I fell in love with a song. I don’t remember every song that made me swoon and it’s hard for me to even remember who those singers and songwriters were that caught my earliest attentions. But I do remember the feelings those songs inspired. I remember the happiness and imagination they created. Most importantly I remember the almost insatiable desire they stirred within me to hear them over and over again.

Kygo has won my heart. When I listen to him, it’s as if I’m falling in love with music all over again. Do yourself a favor and take a listen. If not for me, do it for the little person inside of you. The one who first took you on your journey with music.

Leave a Reply

