Sometimes I Get Hungry #16

SIGH [ART#4]

05/21/2014

Quiz Time: What was the first event with bright glowing radioactive lights? Where dozens of musicians were playing in the streets, alongside a giant ferris wheel? I’ll give you a hint: it wasn’t in America. Nope, you probably guessed wrong. But it was in Europe. It wasn’t even in the last two centuries either. I’ll tell you in a second, but first this message.

Recently, I was offered to coordinate a night at a club, which was to open soon. The contract entails reviving one of my prodigious weekly events. Without giving too much away, or getting all self-absorbed, I always showcase musicians in the middle of them. Of course, they are thematically chosen, both for style and content. So, stupid me, the cogs started turning. Eventually, the monkey and the organ grinder (who represent my thought processes while in deep thought) played a tune called: “Hey, I know a lot of people that play music; who always ask me if I know of venues or shows they can play at”.

I started reaching out. Archived messages and mixes opened up anew. But problems arose almost immediately. The first three people I contacted, started demanding things. Just for a little prospective, each one of them had just declared in lengthy conversation about the art of their music and the difficulty of being booked for shows here. Now, they were going into ratio reps about upfront promotional costs and percentage of the door cover. One of these motherfuckers even tried to go above me. He contacted the venue, tried to work a deal above me, and usurp the night away from me. Luckily, the owners are old friends and we giggled the attachments he sent with his cost margins. They were funny videos.

Kinda like this….

I realize everybody is the “Next Big Thing”… but that’s probably why they don’t get booked anywhere. It’s also the reason they don’t have any local fan base. Getting hand over fist in the mouth greedy, when somebody just asks if you’re interested, automatically disqualifies you to anybody trying to put an event together for the love of the art. But I learned my lesson. I won’t ever extend my hand to these people again. I will give them a plus one on the list, just so they can see what they missed.

This Week’s Free For Download Music

Almost became a list I wanted to call “Safe Tracks To Bump At Your Family Pool Party”. I did get a ton of classic songs, with modern touches, which just begged to be remixed. I even wanted to make a bit of a competition of it and see who came up with the best one. This weekly isn’t about being safe. We love fucking with no rubbers up in this bitch.

Adina Howard x Pat Lok – Freek (2014 Booty)

Usually, I start the music portion with some of the gentler sounds of the week. Pat Lok had to go first this week. I’m so glad to stumble across this old favorite. I’m a 90’s fool; so old booty poppers is my shit. The Wobble extension, migrating into House Garage aesthetics, it could do no wrong. The sectioned build up is perfect for the modern dancefloor, while still carrying Soul into back into the tempo.

Disclosure – You & Me (Pat Lok “Homies Wear Remix)

Yes, another Disclosure Remix. I know, I’m lame, but I wanted to showcase Pat Lok. I just downloaded this for collection purposes, and it ended up being the most requested from everybody I showed it to all weekend. Now, I don’t think it’s Meta by any means, but people love to dance. So we give them what they want. This track really gave me that old Chicago vibe that brings a smile to my face every time. Download it now, before it gets taken down. We know how the brother’s from Disclosure are acting about remixes and copyright infringements nowadays.

Ritontime Battle Weapon III- Road Game (Riton Rerub)

These next two tracks really battled it out for Track of the Week, but this one won by composure and grandeur. It may show my favoritism–and age, but this side of Techno is what got me into the genre as a whole. It appropriately scales, using coordinated timing. I’ve always loved the ferocious third and fourth level of sound. This one uses that sequence quite beautifully.

Bs1 – It’s All Wood

We’re still going dark and we’re still going heavy. These convulsion bass rhythms, give me the deep down, chilly willys. Who doesn’t love that? Opps, I used all the adjectives up that I wanted for this article. Guess, you’re going to have to check it out and tell me what you think.

Elliphant Revolution – Revolusion (Bottle Service Remix)

Don’t know what’s in the air this week. I saw Trainspotting playing at three different clubs. Then I got all these songs that flashed me back worse than Ketamine. Yes, this is a Mad Decent release, and has transfixed Dubstep effect skins, but doesn’t go overboard on the drop emphasis. I’m going to go ahead an label this track as Electro, I welcome the angry comments people will have on that though. Once again, another track combining a couple of textual influences, all coming together into an interesting listen.

Marie Curie discovered Radium in 1898. By 1899, it was in everything, from textiles to toothpaste. So in the middle of the Grand Park in Paris, they had a Faire Luminaire. The streets where literally caked in the powder form. Musicians and bands coated their instruments and clothes in the element. The streets were glowing, literally. It was marketed towards for the “Ravenous Youth”. But we know what happened to Marie Curie. No? Well, her hair and teeth fell out like a baby bird off a freeway overpass nest. Everybody who indulged in her discovery also found themselves in the predicament. Now we got Super Fund Sites dedicated to our Glowstick Forerunners. Raves: Making A Mess Since 1899.

I will be throwing a couple of Outlaw parties that lead up to other events. You need to go on the thingies down there for details.

Next Week: Interviewing Folks, a.k.a Yes, I Got Yak Edition.

Raul Chacon is a self-aware douchebag, who only listens to bands you’ve probably never heard of. His years of writing for literary reviews and magazines, lead him to a couple of scholarships for his work, which he quickly squandered by moving to Austin and going to shows six days a week, instead of class. Eventually, he became as a touring security and witnessed hundreds of shows and dozens of festivals firsthand. He would tell you how many shows he’s been too; but there’s too many holes in his brain at this point.

Contact Thingies:

Twitter @SelfAwareSucio for exclusive content

Instagram @SucioRaul for the infamous #DoucheyShirtoftheDay and event pictures

Soundcloud- SometimesIGetHungry (nospaces) – for more direct music sharing

Please send all questions, comments, and concerns to macrorecordsblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

