New Song, New World #05

Macro Records Blog - NEW SONG NEW WORLD

10 Songs To Take Your August From Good to Great

June feels like last year already, July’s over and I’m starting to think it was never really here. Now, we’ve got August on our hands. If I blink too fast, I’m sure I’ll miss this month too. It’s crazy how much time we spend looking forward to the summer every year only to have it disappear so quickly. It’s like this season plays by its own rules.

Here’s a couple of tracks that have made some waves these past few months and will hopefully spice up your last month of sunshine. I can’t guarantee it’ll make August last any longer, but it will make it that much more enjoyable.
So, in no particular order, here are 10 tracks to take your August from Good to Great.

10. The Weeknd – Often (Kygo Remix)
I don’t think any play list this year would be complete without a remix from Kygo. He recently announced he’ll be doing his first North American Tour “Endless Summer” this September, alongside Amtrac and fellow Tropical House DJ Thomas Jack. This new remix for The Weeknd strays from his familiar down-tempo sound, but his signature mark is definitely still present. I’ve been calling for a Kygo revolution since the moment I heard “I See Fire” and I’m really stoked with the direction hes taking recently.

9. Gorgon City – Here For You (Slander Edit)
I’m digging the intro and sultry spin Slander decided to put on this already solid track from Gorgon City. It seems to be a summer for creative remixing and Slander’s contributions are front lining the trend, including the L.A. based duo’s version of Seven Lions’ “Don’t Leave”.

8. Dawn Golden – All I Want (Manila Killa Remix)
A huge track laden with emotion, something you expect when you see Dawn Golden’s name. “All I Want” tugs at the heart strings, but Manila Killa takes some of the edge off with their lighter interpretation.

7. Odesza – Sun Models (Feat. Madelyn Grant)
The first time I heard Sun Models I melted into my chair. It’s 2:40 minutes of the most hypnotizing rhythms you’ll get to hear in one song.

6. Scroobius Pip – The Struggle (Doctor P REMIX) Getter & AFK VIP
Getter’s on fire, Dr. P is on fire and this whole song shows just how much. If you like this tune, check out another solid collaboration of Getters, this time with Protohype entitled The Peak.

5. Lorde – Tennis Court (Diplo’s Andrew Agassi Reebok Pump Remix)
Although Flume’s remix still reigns supreme for me, I like Diplo’s take on Tennis Court too. In the end, Lorde has a voice and lyrical ability that just begs to be remixed.

4. Stevie Wonder – Superstition (C2C Remix)
All of the sudden, Superstition remixes were popping up all over my Soundcloud feed. Although I love the Funk vibe The Noisy Freaks gave it, I’m digging the C2C version on Stevie Wonder’s classic just a little bit more.

3. Toro Y Moi – So Many Details
Toro Y Moi AKA Chazwick Bradly Bundick is one talented man. He’s toyed with an array of different sounds, including Chillwave and Electronic. He remixed one of my favorite Disclosure tracks, “You & Me” last year, which flew under the radar. His beats are chill, his sound methodical and So Many Details exemplifies just that.

2. Bon Iver – Baby’s (Urban Contact’s Summer Soul Remix)
So I’m guilty of stealing this one from Thomas Jack’s Tropical House Series, but I’d like to believe my love for Bon Iver would have lead me to stumble across this tune eventually. I have a serious addiction to the style of House that DJ’s like Thomas Jack and Kygo are revolutionizing. And I’m certain Bon Iver’s voice was made for that electrifying beat. Drums, guitar, summer breeze. I’m officially obsessed.

1. Lykke Li – No Rest For The Wicked
I love Lykke Li and I love Joris Voorn’s take on this one. Remember a few years back when Voorn took another incredible vocalist’s song and remixed it? I’m talking about Lana Del Rey’s “Video Games”. Voorn either has an affinity for choosing the perfect songs to reinterpret or he chooses already perfect songs to attach his sound behind. Either way, this is a definite love of mine at the moment.

And just like that, welcome to September.

Article by: Kassie Mitchell

******************************’

**FIND US WHEREVER YOU LIKE**

ThisIsMacro – Official Website

YouTube – MacroRecordsTV

Facebook

Twitter

******************************’

If you enjoy The Macro Records Blog, then you will probably enjoy The Macrocast. The #1 source for news and entertainment, with the minds behind Macro Records. Subscribe on Itunes Today.

******************************

Do you like Video Games? Then you will probably like joining us on YouTube for MacroPLAY. MacroPLAY is the official Lets Play channel for Macro Records. Join the guys as they effectively ruin your favorite video games, and some other ones as well.

*****************************

Leave a Reply

