Take Me Away #31

I recently had the opportunity to sit down with an artist from the El Paso area and talk politics, music and inspiration. DJ Prince Jett is a humble and community oriented man whose focus is entirely musical. He tends to ignore the politics of industry and of society. Insetad Dj Prince Jett focuses on what makes him happy, what makes his community better and what makes sense to him, his craft. So without further ado please take some time to get to know the man that is making waves in the El Paso scene.

Gabriel Barrio-

First things first, what got you into making music?

DJ Prince Jett-

It all started when I was in fifth grade. My classmates, Ghuneem W. and Jimmy B. were the rappers and I was the producer. It’s funny but after all of these years, Ghuneem is on my mixtape! I’ve always wanted to feel like people are a part of the music I create.

GB-

Can you name a pivotal moment in which you decided that everything else was secondary?

DJPJ-

When I dj’ed at a hair show for a top barber shop. My mentor and boss, DJ Crank opened for me. I felt like I was a star… or something! The dance floor was packed everywhere and people were having a GREAT time! He introduced me and I froze! I was so afraid that sweat was pouring down and my heart was racing! I was SO nervous and scared! I FROZE when I pushed play to start my set. DJ Crank saw fear in me but he saved me from ending my career. I will never forget that moment because I take my job VERY seriously!

GB-

Do you DJ on a local level, regional level, or national level? What is the scene like where you play often?

DJPJ-

I DJ mostly at a local level. If I’m given the opportunity, I will rock on a national level with my team.

GB-

Does electronic music threaten other forms of music?

DJPJ-

I agree to disagree, I LOVE all music! I’m learning and practicing daily with electronic. LOOK OUT I’M COMING! (Laughs out loud).

GB-

If you were going to have to listen to one band/artist/musician for the rest of your life who would it be?

DJPJ-

Lil Wayne because he is an incredible rapper. DJs Calvin Harris and Harwell are also incredible.

GB-

What bothers you most about the music industry?

DJPJ-

Nothing really because nowadays everyone is so creative. It makes me w ork to be different. I don’t want to be handed anything. I want to earn every second of my career.

GB-

A lot of attention is being paid towards women and how the industry treats them, so I wanted to ask a question along those lines.

How does it feel to have an unfair advantage in the music industry?

DJPJ-

Women are amazing in music. I once read Calvin Harris prefers to work with women on most of his tracks because of the way the tracks are made. I’m working with a few women on some of my upcoming projects. I am also working alongside my amazing producers, TB and AndrewS.

GB-

Do you ever take for granted that you are a male and can speak your mind without fear of retribution?

DJPJ-

I always quote this daily from a famous person. “You can’t fear rejection because everything you want is on the other side of fear.” With that being said, both men and women can speak of something they want.

GB-

Is it hard to DJ in pants and basic footwear?

DJPJ-

LOL. NO. I’d rather wear jeans and a t-shirt because it gets hot!

GB-

Do you prefer festivals that have a majority male lineup?

DJPJ-

I WANT IT ALL! Festivals, clubs, parties, radio, parking lots, parks, etc. I’m very humble and thankful.

GB-

What is the biggest injustice that you have experienced personally?

DJPJ-

I recall leaving my hard drive, power cord for my laptop and a tape for the wires on the floor. The party started at 6 p.m. and I got there at 5 p.m. I had to leave to get some other items I left behind. I returned with the items at 5:45 and I setup one speaker. I threw on a previous mix I made and setup lights and other speakers. Come to find out they couldn’t turn the lights off. I played a night party in the light! None of the kids danced, nobody danced for the most part. I played every hit but nothing. They looked at me and I looked at them. Horrible experience! I learned a lot from that event after speaking to my mentor, DJ Crank. Pack two of everything, make a checklist, arrive two hours before the event to allow yourself some time, follow up with playlist and take requests to get them on the dance floor. Trust me, I’ve got it down now.

GB-

Does music help you process emotions and experiences that are traumatic?

DJPJ-

Yes, during my divorce. I wrote a lot of music that I can’t find. I shared it with my ex-wife once and she loved it even though it was about us. I am now drama-free. I didn’t know how to handle the divorce until I wrote myself to sleep.

GB-

What genre’s are the most therapeutic for you?  Hiphop/Electronic/Trap/Dubstep

And does creating music help more or does listening to music? Both, I love to write, even if it’s two lines. When you hear a TB or AndrewS beat, you have to write.

GB-

What is your personal opinion on the tragic deaths all around the country at the hands of police officers?

DJPJ-

I think all of this is shocking to see and read but my heart goes out to both sides. It’s funny that you mention it because TB a.k.a.Turbo, Andrews and I are talking about doing some dedication tracks for both sides.

GB-

Do you feel that electronic music or music has the capability to help people transcend cultural barriers?

DJPJ-

Perhaps good music can unite people from all types of ethnicities and backgrounds. Good music can create a peaceful ambiance for all kinds of people. Maybe good music can break language barriers from English and Spanish speakers for instance. Good music will be understood,no matter who listens to it. I hope it can create peace and joy. I never knew what it was until I moved to El Paso. When I went to EDCLV I really was very open  to electronic music.

GB-

Is that something that needs to be done in today’s society or are the cultural barriers that are in place something that doesn’t bother you much?

DJPJ-

It doesn’t bother me.

GB-

If you could have your pick of all the major music festivals to headline, which would it be?

DJPJ-

EDC. I see myself playing there one day. I get butterflies thinking about it. I see myself crying on stage after my set because the fans went CRAZY!

GB-

What would your dream gig be?

DJPJ-

Playing at an Obama party and traveling with the EDC Crew.

GB-

Do you have any upcoming projects you would like to mention?

DJPJ-

IGOTNEXT, which is an alternative to the typical bar and club scene. The concept is based on bringing interesting and diverse groups of people (whether single or married) together to interact in a social setting. The event is based on playing games and having fun. Also, speed dating in El Paso, which is for the single ladies and fellas. Why go out on one date when you can meet 10 to 30 people per night? Another event is First Fridays, which is catered to the grown and sexy crowd who want to go out and enjoy one another. DJ/MCing at one of the largest hip-hop clubs in El Paso alongside DJ Grey Goose. You can also find me volunteering at local schools, churches and charities.

GB-

Where can folks find your music?

DJPJ-

SoundCloud, Mixcloud, Facebook

https://soundcloud.com/djprincejett-1

http://www.mixcloud.com/dj-prince-jett/

https://www.facebook.com/prince.jett?fref=ts

GB-

Does it bother you that there are individuals like Justin Bieber or Paris Hilton making exorbitant amounts of money for contributing very awful music to the world?

DJPJ-

No. I love them too. They have a niche that sells.

GB-

Most embarrassing album in your collection?

DJPJ-

Me Trying to rap. It’s called “I Need Help” Lol.

GB-

Which album in your collection are you most proud of?

DJPJ-

My upcoming projects, “She wasn’t Ready Mixtape” “Freshman Mixtape”, which features three of AndrewS` tracks and me on there and “Make More or Make Excuses Mix-tape”, which is all local talent. TB is on a few beats on some of the tracks.

GB-

Cat or Dog person?

DJPJ-

Fish because they’re giving to everyone and because they are small. Humans and animals, just like me. Lol.

GB-

Coca-Cola or Pepsi?

DJPJ-

Water because I’m pure and humble.

GB-

Money or Fame?

DJPJ-

Both, if one, then $$$. You gave me an idea, “Money Vs Fame Mix”… Thanks!

GB-

And lastly what would be the best piece of advice you could give to someone who wants to get into the music industry?

DJPJ-

If you want to be really successful you have to give up sleep.

GB-

Any shout outs and thank you’s you would like to give out?

DJPJ-

Yes, God for making me a humble person, Lisa for believing in me, DJ Crank for being my mentor/boss/friend and for showing me everything I know, DJ Grey Goose for letting me spin next to him at clubs, Jermaine, my brother for not letting me give up, AndrewS & TB a.k.a. Turbo, my producers for giving me great music, and my upcoming talent from JettNationCamp like YungDash, MichaelS, Derty Derty, SPDG, Cookie, and JennaM. And you for giving me an opportunity to speak to you. Thank You!

Article by: Gabriel Barrio

Join Gabriel on his personal Blog.

Follow Gabriel on Twitter.

******************************’

**FIND US WHEREVER YOU LIKE**

ThisIsMacro – Official Website

YouTube – MacroRecordsTV

Facebook

Twitter

******************************’

If you enjoy The Macro Records Blog, then you will probably enjoy The Macrocast. The #1 source for news and entertainment, with the minds behind Macro Records. Subscribe on Itunes Today.

******************************

Do you like Video Games? Then you will probably like joining us on YouTube for MacroPLAY. MacroPLAY is the official Lets Play channel for Macro Records. Join the guys as they effectively ruin your favorite video games, and some other ones as well.

*****************************

3 thoughts on “Take Me Away #31

Leave a Reply

