Take Me Away #34

I once worked with a girl who told me she only listened to music on the radio or television. She had never heard of the countless bands, artists, or musicians that I talk about, many of which are far from “indie” or “underground”. She just only listened to music that was popular. I couldn’t identify with that type of attitude towards music or art, ultimately putting us at odds against each other. Most of our inability to get along happened to be because I couldn’t bring myself to want to get to know someone who had such a closed mind when it came to the creative arts. My taste in music may not be better than hers or anyone else’s taste in music for that matter, but it is definitely not limited. I am constantly searching for new music and once I find something I like, I listen to it for a few days before I get tired of it and need to find something new. I attribute this to the cultural norms of fast paced information access, the internet age and the first world cultural desire for instant gratification. My never ending thirst for new music and art is insatiable. I may also be incorrect to have judged a person based on their lack of interest in music that wasn’t popular but my personal opinion on people who are willing to just be passive followers of what is culturally popular leads me to believe that they may have similar attitudes in other aspects of life. I felt that this coworker of mine may be dogmatic, politically closed minded and generally willing to accept the status quo all because she only listen to pop-music. That may make me an asshole and that may mean I am closed minded, but I know that life is too short to listen to pop music alone.

With all of that being said, there is an artist that I have been listening to for quite some time that satiates my unquenchable thirst for new music. Her name is Zola Jesus. She recently released her fifth studio album via Mute records. She is a British artist and she is labeled as being Baroque Pop, Synthpop and Electronica.

zolajesus

Her latest album is titled “Taiga” and that is also the name of the first track on the album. Her voice is heavy and powerful. This is definitely music that my co-worker would not be interested in and that is perfectly fine with me because I don’t have the energy to explain why it would be a better option to listen to than the music on the radio.

Her first single released off the album is titled “Dangerous Days” and the track is just what I need to settle my quest for new music. The track is lovely, and the video adds a layer of beauty and depth that is much appreciated. It has an artistic duality that moves between images that are comforting and ones that are off-putting. Either way it is definitely worth a view.

The Diplo remix of her track “Go” is next up on the list. Even though I’m not the biggest Diplo fan, any track that features her vocals is worth listening to.

I often think about how a person might feel when their entire musical, artistic, and political life is determined by popular culture. What thoughts a person might have could be affected by their pandering to what’s popular. I feel that the world becomes a more dangerous place when we are encouraged to close ourselves off to different ideas, concepts, cultures, art, or musical creations. I hope that people start wanting more than what they are given. Finding a different path is sometimes the most rewarding aspect of life.

Article by: Gabriel Barrio

Join Gabriel on his personal Blog.

Follow Gabriel on Twitter.

******************************’

**FIND US WHEREVER YOU LIKE**

ThisIsMacro – Official Website

YouTube – MacroRecordsTV

Facebook

Twitter

******************************’

If you enjoy The Macro Records Blog, then you will probably enjoy The Macrocast. The #1 source for news and entertainment, with the minds behind Macro Records. Subscribe on Itunes Today.

******************************

Do you like Video Games? Then you will probably like joining us on YouTube for MacroPLAY. MacroPLAY is the official Lets Play channel for Macro Records. Join the guys as they effectively ruin your favorite video games, and some other ones as well.

*****************************

Leave a Reply

